Healthy crops, safe water

ANR nitrogen management

Doug Parker, Ph.D.
Director, California Institute for Water Resources
UC Agriculture and Natural Resources
doug.parker@ucop.edu
(510) 987-0036

Groundwater management

Thomas Harter, Ph.D.
UC Cooperative Extension specialist
Land, Air and Water Resources, UC Davis
thharter@ucdavis.edu
(530) 752-2709

Samuel Sandoval Solis
UC Cooperative Extension specialist
Land, Air and Water REsources, UC Davis
samsandoval@ucdavis.edu
(530) 750-9722

Irrigation

Amir Haghverdi
UC Cooperative Extension specialist
Urban water management
UC Riverside
(951) 827-4774
amir.haghverdi@ucr.edu 

Isaya Kisekka
Professor
Land, Air and Water Resources, UC Davis
ikisekka@ucdavis.edu 

Daniele Zaccaria
UC Cooperative Extension specialist
Agricultural irrigation management
Land, Air and Water Resources, UC Davis
(530) 219-7502 
dzaccaria@ucdavis.edu

Dairy production

Jennifer Heguy
UC Cooperative Extension advisor
San Joaquin and Stanislaus counties, dairy
(209) 525-6800
jmheguy@ucdavis.edu

Betsy M. Karle
UC Cooperative Extension program representative
Glenn County, dairy
(530) 865-1156
bmkarle@ucdavis.edu

Noelia Silva-del-Rio
(Speaks Spanish)
UC Cooperative Extension specialist
Veterinary Medicine Teaching and Research Center
(559) 688-1731
nsilvadelrio@ucdavis.edu

Nutrient management

Mark Bolda
UC Cooperative Extension advisor
Santa Cruz County, strawberries and caneberries
(831) 763-8025
mpbolda@ucdavis.edu

Michael D. Cahn
UC Cooperative Extension advisor
Monterey County, irrigation and water resources
(831) 759-7377
mdcahn@ucdavis.edu

Richard Smith
UC Cooperative Extension advisor
Monterey County, vegetable crop production and weed science
(831) 759-7357
rifsmith@ucdavis.edu

Farming practices

David Michael Crohn, Ph. D.
Environmental Science, UC Riverside
Extension biological systems engineer, biological systems for municipal waste management, nonpoint source pollution, design of land application systems, water resource management, surface water quality
(310) 903-3733
crohn@ucr.edu

Timothy K. Hartz, Ph. D.
UC Cooperative Extension specialist in the Department of Plant Sciences, UC Davis
Improved management regimes for commercial vegetable production, cultural practices for warm-season vegetable crops
(530) 752-1738
tkhartz@ucdavis.edu

Deanne Meyer, Ph. D.
UC Cooperative Extension specialist in the Department of Animal Science, UC Davis
Livestock waste management
(530) 752-9391
dmeyer@ucdavis.edu

Jeffrey P. Mitchell, Ph.D.
UC Cooperative Extension specialist in the Department of Plant Sciences, UC Davis
Cropping systems, Conservation Agriculture Systems Innovation
UC Kearney Agricultural Research and Extension Center
(559) 646-6565
mitchell@uckac.edu

Thomas P. Tomich, Ph.D.
Director of UC ANR statewide Sustainable Agriculture Research and Education Program, director of the Agricultural Sustainability Institute, WK Kellogg Endowed Chair in Sustainable Food Systems at UC Davis. Policy implications
(530) 752-3915
tptomich@ucdavis.edu

For more information, contact: 
Jeannette Warnert, (559) 240-9850, jewarnert@ucanr.edu 
Pam Kan-Rice, (510) 206-3476, pam.kanrice@ucanr.edu