Child Abuse & Neglect Reporting Act
CANRA Reporting Requirements
Note: All UC personnel who have observed or suspect child abuse or neglect while working within the course or scope of their University activities should make a report
- Reporter shall make a verbal report to any of the following: local law enforcement, child protective services or county welfare departments.
- A list of Child Protective Services hotlines across California if you choose to report to this agency:http://www.childsworld.ca.gov/res/pdf/CPSEmergNumbers.pdf
- A list of County welfare departments: http://www.cdss.ca.gov/County-Offices
- No later than 36 hours after the verbal report, Reporter must fill-out form SS 8572 (https://oag.ca.gov/sites/all/files/agweb/pdfs/childabuse/ss_8572.pdf?)and fax it to the agency with whom they spoke.
- Reporter shall then make an internal report (can be anonymous) to University Compliance Hotline 1-800-403-4744 or http://www.universityofcalifornia.edu/hotline/
What information should you give and what information should you request of the reporting agency:
Call as soon as practicable
- Give the agency as much details as possible
- Tell them that you are a mandated reporter at the University of California
- Tell them you are filing a report under section Penal Code 11160 (or P.C.11165.7(41))
- Record name of the person who took the report along with the report number, a fax number of the agency and the date and time.
Make a written report
- No later than 36 hours after your verbal report
- Fill out Form SS 8572 (https://oag.ca.gov/sites/all/files/agweb/pdfs/childabuse/ss_8572.pdf?
- Fax it to the agency with whom you spoke.
Consequences for not reporting suspected child abuse and neglect
When an organization fails to keep those in its care safe from abuse, it may face costly and damaging civil litigation and its leadership may face criminal charges.
A mandated reporter who fails to execute their legal obligations can face criminal charges and a fine
- misdemeanor punishable by up to six months in jail,
- a fine of $1000
- or both
The California Child Abuse and Neglect Reporting Act (“CANRA”), codified at California Penal Code §§ 11164-11174.3, requires that employers of Mandated Reporters (as defined in the Act) promote identification and reporting of child abuse or neglect (http://policy.ucop.edu/doc/4000603). It is the policy of the University of California to:
- to require that all University employees and administrators who are Mandated Reporters make required reports to child protection or law enforcement agencies and University officials;
- To encourage all members of the University community who observe, have actual knowledge of, or reasonably suspect child abuse or neglect at a University facility to do the same.
Any questions or concerns may be directed to ANR Administrative Policies & Business Contracts Principal Analyst Robin Sanchez at 530-750-1235 or firstname.lastname@example.org.
Research Extension Center Directors
Statewide Program Directors
Certain Environmental Horticulture Advisors,
Certain Nutrition Family Consumer Science Advisors,
Youth, Family & Community Advisors
All Community Educator & Program Representative Titles including but not limited to these units:
- Youth, Family & Community
- Master Gardeners
- Master Food Preservers
- Nutrition Family Consumer Science