ANR Employees
University of California
ANR Employees

Nutritional Wellbeing

Food Insecurity

INSECURITY is in every community.

Please use or refer to the California Association of Food Bank search by Zip code food bank finder to help those in need.http://www.cafoodbanks.org/

TAKE THE USDA Food Insecurity Survey. It is instructive.     https://www.ers.usda.gov/topics/food-nutrition-assistance/food-security-in-the-us/survey-tools/#adult

LOOK AT ALL of the USDA tools for assessing adult and household food insecurity. 

In English  https://www.ers.usda.gov/topics/food-nutrition-assistance/food-security-in-the-us/survey-tools/   

In Spanish  https://www.ers.usda.gov/topics/food-nutrition-assistance/food-security-in-the-us/survey-tools/#Spanish

In Chinese https://www.ers.usda.gov/topics/food-nutrition-assistance/food-security-in-the-us/survey-tools/#Chinese

Recipes from SNAP

National Farmers Market Directory: Find one near you!

https://www.ams.usda.gov/local-food-directories/farmersmarkets

How about some Salsa!  

Farmers Market Salsa  https://www.snap4ct.org/farmers-market-salsa.html

Mellon Salsa https://www.snap4ct.org/melon-salsa.html

Strawberry Pepper https://www.snap4ct.org/strawberry-pepper-salsa.html

Mango Salsa https://www.snap4ct.org/mango-salsa.html

National Farmers Market Directory: Find ingredients near you!  https://www.ams.usda.gov/local-food-directories/farmersmarkets

BREAKFAST! Whole Grain Strawberry Pancakes https://www.snap4ct.org/whole-grain-strawberry-pancakes.html

DINNER tonight: Croc-pot Enchilada Rice right here! https://www.snap4ct.org/one-pan-pesto-chicken-and-veggies.html

DESERT too! Frozen Peach Pops https://www.snap4ct.org/frozen-peach-pops.html and

Apple Pie Cups

https://ucanr.edu/sites/yolonutrition/files/306103.pdf

How about Meatless? https://www.snap4ct.org/meatless-meals.html

Try the Southwestern Pepper Cups https://www.snap4ct.org/southwestern-pepper-cups.html

From Yolo UCCE Summer Recipes We created these recipes for our Cooking Academy after school program; they are healthy, delicious, and loved by our student chefs! Try one or all of these recipes and let us know what you think.  http://yolonutrition.ucanr.edu/After-School_Nutrition_Education_Program/Recipies/

 

 

 

Webmaster Email: jewarnert@ucanr.edu