Division of Agriculture and Natural Resources
Division of Agriculture and Natural Resources
Division of Agriculture and Natural Resources
University of California
Division of Agriculture and Natural Resources

Experts list

ANR nitrogen management

Doug Parker, Ph.D.
Director, California Institute for Water Resources
UC Agriculture and Natural Resources
doug.parker@ucop.edu
(510) 987-0036


Collar_Original
UC Cooperative Extension advisor Carol Collar, a dairy expert.

Irrigation

Stuart Pettygrove, Ph.D.
UC Cooperative Extension specialist
Land, Air and Water Resources, UC Davis
Soil fertility, land application of wastes and wastewater, dairy manure, winegrape nutrition, precision agriculture
(530) 752-2533
gspettygrove@ucdavis.edu

Lawrence J. Schwankl, Ph.D.
UC Cooperative Extension specialist
Kearney Agricultural Research and Extension Center
Irrigation engineering, design, operation and management of irrigation systems, soil moisture monitoring, low-volume irrigation
(559) 646-6569
schwankl@uckac.edu


Groundwater management

Thomas Harter, Ph.D.
UC Cooperative Extension specialist
Land, Air and Water Resources, UC Davis
thharter@ucdavis.edu
(530) 752-2709

Dairy production

Alejandro R. Castillo, Ph.D.
(Speaks Spanish)
UC Cooperative Extension advisor
Merced County, ruminants nutrition
(209) 385-7403
arcastillo@ucdavis.edu

Carol A. Collar
UC Cooperative Extension advisor
Kings County, dairy, livestock, forage
(559) 582-3211, Ext. 2739
ccollar@ucdavis.edu

Jennifer Heguy
UC Cooperative Extension advisor
San Joaquin and Stanislaus counties, dairy
(209) 525-6800
jmheguy@ucdavis.edu

Gerald E. Higginbotham, Ph.D.
UC Cooperative Extension advisor
Fresno and Madera counties, dairy nutrition and management, silage management
(559) 675-7879, Ext. 209
gehigginbotham@ucdavis.edu

Betsy M. Karle
UC Cooperative Extension program representative
Glenn County, dairy
(530) 865-1156
bmkarle@ucdavis.edu

Nyles G. Peterson
UC Cooperative Extension advisor
San Bernardino County, dairy management, waste management, milk quality and milking management
(909) 387-3318
ngpeterson@ucdavis.edu

Noelia Silva-del-Rio
(Speaks Spanish)
UC Cooperative Extension advisor
Tulare County, dairy science
(559) 684-3313
nsilvadelrio@ucdavis.edu

Nutrient management

Aziz Baameur
UC Cooperative Extension advisor
Santa Clara County, small farms, cultivar evaluation, nutrient management, irrigation, specialty crops, cucurbits, oriental vegetables
(408) 282-3127
azbaameur@ucdavis.edu

Mark Bolda
UC Cooperative Extension advisor
Santa Cruz County, strawberries and caneberries
(831) 763-8025
mpbolda@ucdavis.edu

Michael D. Cahn
UC Cooperative Extension advisor
Monterey County, irrigation and water resources
(831) 759-7377
mdcahn@ucdavis.edu

Louise E. Jackson, Ph.D.
UC Cooperative Extension specialist
Land, Air and Water Resources, UC Davis
Plant and soil nitrogen dynamics, organic and conventional vegetable production, grassland restoration ecology
(530) 754-9116
lejackson@ucdavis.edu

Richard Smith
UC Cooperative Extension advisor
Monterey County, vegetable crop production and weed science
(831) 759-7357
rifsmith@ucdavis.edu

Farming practices

Marsha L. Campbell Mathews
UC Cooperative Extension advisor
Stanislaus County, field crops
(209) 525-6800
mcmathews@ucdavis.edu

David Michael Crohn, Ph. D.
Environmental Science, UC Riverside
Extension biological systems engineer, biological systems for municipal waste management, nonpoint source pollution, design of land application systems, water resource management, surface water quality
(310) 903-3733
crohn@ucr.edu

Carol A. Frate
UC Cooperative Extension advisor
Tulare County, alfalfa, dry beans, sugarbeets, corn, plant pathology
(559) 684-3314
cafrate@ucdavis.edu

Timothy K. Hartz, Ph. D.
UC Cooperative Extension specialist in the Department of Plant Sciences, UC Davis
Improved management regimes for commercial vegetable production, cultural practices for warm-season vegetable crops
(530) 752-1738
tkhartz@ucdavis.edu

Deanne Meyer, Ph. D.
UC Cooperative Extension specialist in the Department of Animal Science, UC Davis
Livestock waste management
(530) 752-9391
dmeyer@ucdavis.edu

Jeffrey P. Mitchell, Ph.D.
UC Cooperative Extension specialist in the Department of Plant Sciences, UC Davis
Cropping systems
UC Kearney Agricultural Research and Extension Center
(559) 646-6565
mitchell@uckac.edu

Thomas P. Tomich, Ph.D.
Director of UC ANR statewide Sustainable Agriculture Research and Education Program, director of the Agricultural Sustainability Institute, WK Kellogg Endowed Chair in Sustainable Food Systems at UC Davis. Policy implications
(530) 752-3915
tptomich@ucdavis.edu

Webmaster Email: jewarnert@ucanr.edu