Division of Agriculture and Natural Resources
Division of Agriculture and Natural Resources
Division of Agriculture and Natural Resources
University of California
Division of Agriculture and Natural Resources

Experts

For assistance in contacting sources on deadline, call Jeannette Warnert at (559) 240-9850.


Mary Blackburn, Ph.D.
Family and Consumer Sciences
Health and Nutrition Advisor
UC Cooperative Extension
Alameda County
(510) 639-1274
mlblackburn@ucdavis.edu
Healthy nutrition and lifestyle practices
Susan Donohue
County Director
UC Cooperative Extension
Butte County
(530) 538-7797
ssdonohue@ucdavis.edu
General nutrition and healthy lifestyle and physical activity

Lucrecia Farfan-Ramirez
County Director
UC Cooperative Extension
Alameda County
(510) 639-1270
cdalameda@ucdavis.edu
Early childhood nutrition and food security
Sharon Fleming
Professor & Food Scientist
Co-Director, Center for Weight and Health
UC Berkeley
(510) 642-4797
fleming@nature.berkeley.edu
Biological basis of obesity and its effects on health

Joanne Ikeda, R.D.
Extension Nutrition Education Specialist emeritus
Co-director, Center for Weight and Health
UC Berkeley
(510) 642-2790
jikeda@berkeley.edu

Prevention and treatment of pediatric obesity at the local, state and national levels. Empowering community coalitions to change local environments so they are more supportive of healthy lifestyles in children.

Karen Jetter, Ph.D.
Assistant Research Economist
Agricultural & Resource Economics
UC Davis
(530) 754-8756
jetter@primal.ucdavis.edu

Nutrition economist
Sharon Junge
County Director and 4-H Youth Development Advisor
UC Cooperative Extension
Placer-Nevada counties
(530) 889-7385
skjunge@ucdavis.edu
Children nutrition, community food systems, farm to school

Lucia Kaiser
Cooperative Extension Community Nutrition Specialist
UC Davis
(530) 754-9063
llkaiser@ucdavis.edu
Nutrition education for low-income families, diabetes prevention
Cathi Lamp, R.D.
Nutrition, family and consumer sciences advisor
UC Cooperative Extension
Tulare County
559 685-3309 x 218
cllamp@ucdavis.edu
Child nutrition, healthful eating at home and away from home and limited resource families
Diane Metz
County Director
UC Cooperative Extension
Solano County
(707) 421-6792
dlmetz@ucdavis.edu
Body, weight and Health issues, childhood obesity, community coalition building to maximize efforts to promote health, community-based nutrition education with low resource audiences
Shirley Peterson
County Director
San Luis Obispo County
(805) 781-5951
sspeterson@ucdavis.edu
Healthy eating, preschool nutrition, prevention of childhood obesity
Constance Schneider, Ph.D.
Nutrition Social Marketing Director
UC Cooperative Extension
Fresno County
(559) 456-7285.
cschneider@ucdavis.edu
Promoting wellness through healthful eating and physical activity plus counseling with children and adults in relation to weight loss and diabetes. Community nutrition, general nutrition and sports nutrition.
Dorothy Smith, R.D.
County Director
Amador, Calaveras and Tuolumne counties
UC Cooperative Extension
(209) 223-6834/6482
dorsmith@ucdavis.edu
Healthful eating
Judy Stern, Sc.D.
Nutrition Professor
UC Davis
(530) 752-6575
jsstern@ucdavis.edu
Interactions of adipose cellularity and metabolism, food intake, diet, exercise, hyperinsulinemia and energetics in genetically obese rats; obesity and aging on obese rodents, alternative medicine research in asthma, allergy, and immunology
Marilyn Townsend, Ph.D., R.D.
Cooperative Extension Specialist
Nutrition Department
UC Davis
(530) 754-9222
mstownsend@ucdavis.edu
Food insecurity, hunger and obesity, childhood obesity prevention and interventions
Gail Woodward-Lopez, M.P.H., R.D.
Associate Director, Center for Weight and Health
UC Berkeley
(510) 642-1599
gwlopez@nature.berkeley.edu
Causes of overweight and effective approaches to preventing overweight with a focus on nutrition, children and school-based approaches.

 

bottom line
Webmaster Email: jewarnert@ucanr.edu