ANR Employees
University of California
ANR Employees

Nominations for UC ag sustainability leadership award due Jan. 16

The Agricultural Sustainability Institute at UC Davis is accepting nominations for the annual Eric Bradford and Charlie Rominger Agricultural Sustainability Leadership Award.

Nominations are welcome for UC Cooperative Extension advisors and specialists as well as UC Davis graduate students, faculty members, and in special cases, alumni, for their work toward agricultural sustainability. Award recipients will receive a cash prize and may be invited to give a lecture sponsored by the Agricultural Sustainability Institute at UC Davis which manages the award and selection process.

The Bradford-Rominger award recognizes and honors individuals who exhibit the leadership, work ethic and integrity epitomized by the late Eric Bradford, a livestock geneticist who gave 50 years of service to UC Davis, and the late Charlie Rominger, a fifth-generation Yolo County farmer and land preservationist.

The Bradford-Rominger award recipient for 2015 was Isao Fujimoto, lecturer emeritus of Community Development and Asian American Studies at UC Davis. In 2014 Mary Bianchi, UC Cooperative Extension advisor and county director for San Luis Obispo and northern Santa Barbara counties, was honored. In 2013, Rose Hayden-Smith, UCCE  advisor in Ventura County and then-leader for UC Agriculture and Natural Resources strategic initiative in sustainable food systems, received the award.

Nominate a UC leader you believe deserves recognition. Nominations are due Jan. 16.  
For selection criteria, visit the Agricultural Sustainability Institute website at

Posted on Tuesday, November 22, 2016 at 11:50 AM
  • Author: Aubrey Thompson

No Comments Posted.

Login to leave a comment.
Webmaster Email: