ANR Employees
University of California
ANR Employees

Oklahoma added to state travel ban

Effective June 22, 2018, California prohibits state-funded and state-sponsored travel to Oklahoma as a result of discriminatory legislation Oklahoma signed into law on May 11, 2018, California Attorney General Xavier Becerra announced. 

Oklahoma joins Alabama, Kansas, Kentucky, Mississippi, North Carolina, Tennessee and Texas on the list of states subject to Assembly Bill 1887 travel prohibitions.

California law prohibits use of state funds to pay for travel to states with laws that discriminate against lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender people. 

For UC ANR, that means UC systemwide assessment funds, which include state funds, cannot be used for travel to banned states. 

Assembly Bill 1887, which targets states with laws that discriminate based on sexual orientation, gender identity and gender expression, provides some exceptions, such as to participate in meetings or training required by a grant or required to maintain grant funding.

The travel prohibition applies to state agencies, departments, boards, authorities, and commissions, including an agency, department, board, authority, or commission of the University of California, the Board of Regents of the University of California, and the California State University. 

If you have questions, please submit your inquiry via the Ask button at

For more information, see these resources:


Posted on Friday, June 29, 2018 at 2:00 PM
Tags: June 2018 (20), policy (77), Travel (9)

No Comments Posted.

Login to leave a comment.

Read more

Webmaster Email: