University of California
ANR Employees

President's Advisory Commission


The President’s Advisory Commission on Agriculture and Natural Resources (PAC) brings together senior leaders from the University of California and the agricultural, natural resources and related human resources sectors twice a year. Participants share new information and ideas, surface emerging issues facing agriculture, the environment, the food system and human nutrition in California, and gain exposure to the breadth and range of UC research and Cooperative Extension programs. The end objectives are to increase awareness of priority areas and issues where the University can make a difference through research, instruction and public service, and to strengthen private-sector support and appreciation for the University.



Mr. Charles D. Ahlem
Charles Ahlem Ranch

Mr. Massey J. Bambara
Senior Vice President, Senior Credit Products Manager
Napa, Marin, Sonoma Market President
Food, Agriculture, and Wine Executive
Bank of America, N.A.

Ms. Ashley Boren
Executive Director
Sustainable Conservation

Mr. Don Bransford
California Rice Commission

Ms. Celeste Cantu
Vice Chair
San Diego Water Quality Control Board

Ms. Carol Chandler
Chandler Farms, LP

Mr. Grant Davis
General Manager
Sonoma County Water Agency

Mr. John A. DeLuca, Ph.D.
Senior Advisor to the President

Mr. Mark Emmerson
Chief Financial Officer
Sierra Pacific Industries

Mr. Lucas Frerichs
Associate Director of State Policy
The Nature Conservancy

Ms. Luawanna Hallstrom
Collaborative Communications

Mr. Jack Hanson
Willow Creek Ranch

Mr. Eric Holst
Associate Vice President, Working Lands
Environmental Defense Fund

Mr. Jerry Lohr
Lohr Vineyards & Wine

Ms. Corinne Martinez 
Martinez Family Ltd Partnership
and Berryessa Gap Vineyards

Mr. Craig McNamara
Owner, Sierra Orchards
President, California State Board of Agriculture

Mr. Michael A. Mellano
Chairman of the Board and CEO
Mellano & Company

Ms. Dina Moore
Lone Star Ranch

Ms. Jean-Mari Peltier
Environmental Solutions Group

Mr. Fred Ruiz
Chairman Emeritus
Ruiz Food Products, Inc.

Mr. Kerry Tucker
Chief Strategic Counsel
Nuffer, Smith, Tucker, Inc.

Mr. Rodger Wasson
Wasson & Associates

Ms. Cher Watte 
Executive Director
California Asparagus Commission

Mr. Paul Wenger
Wenger Ranch

Mr. Stuart Woolf
Woolf Farming and Processing

Ex-Officio Member:

Ms. Karen Ross
California Department of Food and Agriculture

Commissioners are appointed by the President of the University of California. Commissioners receive no compensation, but are reimbursed for reasonable travel costs associated with meetings.



UC President Richard C. Atkinson established the President’s Advisory Commission on Agriculture and Natural Resources in 1998 to strengthen communication with California’s agricultural interests, reinvigorate the University’s land grant mission, and build greater understanding and support for UC research, Cooperative Extension and teaching programs. The first PAC meeting was held in Oakland in September 1998.

The President’s Advisory Commission has been successful in strengthening support for research, public service and teaching programs at UC, communicating the University’s role in creating and disseminating new technologies and scientific advances that make a difference for Californians and the nation, and expanding the network of influential advocates working on behalf of UC in Washington D.C. and Sacramento.

Webmaster Email: