UC ANR Strategic Initiatives
University of California
UC ANR Strategic Initiatives

Healthy Families & Communities Panel Members

How the Panel helps

The SI Panels help

Unify

1. Create vision, 2. Identify themes & priorities, 3. Input to Strategic Plan, 4. Hold meetings, 5. Operate a think tank, 6. Help build capacity, 7. Input to staffing needs, and 8. Manage grants

Communicate

1. Collate stories & highlights, 2. Develop materials (white papers, etc.), 3. Foster debate

Advocate

1. Represent UC ANR and the SI, 2. Engage stakeholders and government, 3. Raise awareness, 4.Represent on Program Council

Initiative Leader

Photo of Lynn Schmitt-McQuitty Lynn Schmitt-McQuitty
Title: Assistant Vice Provost: Cooperative Extension, Director of Cooperative Extension: San Benito County & Science Literacy Youth Development Advisor: San Benito, Santa Cruz, and Monterey Counties
Specialty: Youth Science Literacy
Phone: 831-637-5346 x 12
Email: lschmittmcquitty@ucanr.edu

 

Panel Members

Photo of Dorina M Espinoza PhD Dorina M Espinoza PhD
Title: Youth, Families and Communities Advisor
Phone: 707-445-7351
Email: dmespinoza@ucanr.edu

 

Clare Gupta
Title: UC Cooperative Extension specialist
Phone: 650-766-7610
Email: cgupta@ucdavis.edu

 

Kamaljeet Khaira
Title: UC CalFresh Director
Specialty: Nutrition
Email: kjkhaira@ucdavis.edu

 

Photo of Keith C. Nathaniel Ed.D. Keith C. Nathaniel Ed.D.
Title: County Director & 4-H Youth Development Advisor
Specialty: Adolescent Development; Educational Planning; Social Capital and Community Networks
Notes: Mailing address: PO Box 22255, Los Angeles, CA 90022
Phone: (626) 586-1970
Email: kcnathaniel@ucanr.edu

 

Photo of Marisa Neelon Marisa Neelon
Title: Nutrition, Family & Consumer Sciences Advisor
Phone: (925) 608-6681
Email: mqneelon@ucanr.edu

 

Photo of Lenna Ontai Ph.D Lenna Ontai Ph.D
Title: Family and Early Childhood Specialist
Specialty: parent-child interactions; parenting; early socialization; parenting and child feeding
Phone: (530) 752-6410
Email: lontai@ucdavis.edu

 

Photo of Katie Panarella Katie Panarella
Title: Director, Nutrition, Family and Consumer Sciences Program & Policy
Specialty: EFNEP, Master Food Preserver Program
Phone: 530-750-1393
Email: khpanarella@ucanr.edu

 

Photo of Dr Martin H Smith Dr Martin H Smith
Title: Specialist in Cooperative Extension, Youth Scientific Literacy
Specialty: Youth science education; scientific literacy; curriculum development; educator professional development; inquiry-based learning; experiential learning
Phone: (530) 752-6894
Email: mhsmith@ucdavis.edu

 

Francene M. Steinberg
Title: Associate Professor
Specialty: Nutrition - Health and biologic effects of bioactive food components, especially soy foods; health promotion and chronic disease risk reduction through nutrition education and lifestyle modification, especially prevention of cardiovascular disease, diabetes, and women's menopausal health concerns.
Phone: (530) 752-0160
Email: fmsteinberg@ucdavis.edu

 

Contact Information

To learn more about this initiative, contact the Initiative Leader, Lynn Schmitt-McQuitty.

For media inquiries, contact Pamela Kan-Rice.

Webmaster Email: mozbell@ucanr.edu