UC ANR Strategic Initiatives
University of California
UC ANR Strategic Initiatives

Endemic and Invasive Pests and Diseases Panel Members

UCA

How the Panels help

The SI Panels help

Unify

1. Create vision, 2. Identify themes & priorities, 3. Input to Strategic Plan, 4. Hold meetings, 5. Operate a think tank, 6. Help build capacity, 7. Input to staffing needs, and 8. Manage grants

Communicate

1. Collate stories & highlights, 2. Develop materials (white papers, etc.), 3. Foster debate

Advocate

1. Represent UC ANR and the SI, 2. Engage stakeholders and government, 3. Raise awareness, 4.Represent on Program Council

Initiative Leader

Photo of Dr Jim Farrar Dr Jim Farrar
Title: Director, Statewide IPM Program
Specialty: IPM, integrated pest management, plant pathology, vegetable diseases, fungi
Phone: 530-750-1249
Email: jjfarrar@ucanr.edu

 

Panel Members

Dr SHARIF ALY
Title: ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR-SFT-VM
Specialty: Epidemiology and Biostatistics
Phone: 5596881731
Email: saly@ucdavis.edu

 

Photo of Elizabeth J Fichtner Elizabeth J Fichtner
Title: Farm Advisor
Specialty: Orchard Systems
Phone: (559) 684-3310
Email: ejfichtner@ucanr.edu

 

Photo of Matteo M. Garbelotto Ph.D. Matteo M. Garbelotto Ph.D.
Title: Extension Specialist in Forest Pathology and Adjunct Professor
Specialty: Forest pathology and mycology
Phone: (510) 643-4282
Email: matteog@berkeley.edu

 

Dr Maurice Pitesky
Title: Assistant Specialist
Specialty: Poultry Health and Food Safety Epidemiology
Phone: 530-752-3215
Email: mepitesky@ucdavis.edu

 

Photo of Richard A Redak Richard A Redak
Title: Entomologist Professor & Chair
Specialty: Integrated management of insect pests on commercial floricultural and ornamental plants, ecology of plant-insect interactions within the urban/natural/agricultural interface, community ecology of insects, conservation biology
Phone: (951) 827-7250
Email: richard.redak@ucr.edu

 

Photo of Emily J. Symmes Ph.D. Emily J. Symmes Ph.D.
Title: Area IPM Advisor
Specialty: Integrated pest management
Phone: 530-538-7201
Email: ejsymmes@ucanr.edu

 




Contact Information

To learn more about this initiative, contact the Initiative Leader, Jim Farrar

For media inquiries, contact Pamela Kan-Rice.

 

Webmaster Email: mozbell@ucanr.edu