Hero Image

Sustainable Food Systems Panel Members

How the Panel helps

The SI Panels help

Unify

1. Create vision, 2. Identify themes & priorities, 3. Input to Strategic Plan, 4. Hold meetings, 5. Operate a think tank, 6. Help build capacity, 7. Input to staffing needs, and 8. Manage grants

Communicate

1. Collate stories & highlights, 2. Develop materials (white papers, etc.), 3. Foster debate

Advocate

1. Represent UC ANR and the SI, 2. Engage stakeholders and government, 3. Raise awareness, 4.Represent on Program Council

Initiative Leader

Photo of Deanne Meyer
Deanne Meyer
Title: CE Specialist
Specialty: Livestock waste management
Phone: (530) 752-9391
Email: dmeyer@ucdavis.edu

Panel Members

Photo of Theresa A. Becchetti
Theresa A. Becchetti
Title: Farm Advisor
Specialty: Livestock and Natural Resources, San Joaquin and Stanislaus Counties
Phone: (209) 525-6800
Email: tabecchetti@ucanr.edu
Photo of Rob Bennaton
Rob Bennaton
Title: Bay Area Urban Agriculture Advisor
Specialty: Small Scale Food Production and Soil Quality/Resource Management
Phone: 510-453-3958
Email: rbennaton@ucanr.edu
Photo of Dr Whitney Brim-DeForest
Dr Whitney Brim-DeForest
Title: County Director, Sutter and Yuba Counties and CE Rice and Wild Rice Advisor
Specialty: Rice, Weeds
Phone: 530-822-7515
Email: wbrimdeforest@ucanr.edu
Photo of Dr Monica Cooper
Dr Monica Cooper
Title: Farm Advisor-Viticulture
Specialty: Viticulture and Pest Management
Phone: (707) 253-4221
Email: mlycooper@ucanr.edu
Photo of Dr Ashraf El-Kereamy
Dr Ashraf El-Kereamy
Title: Director of Lindcove REC and UCCE Specialist
Specialty: Specialist in Department of Botany and Plant Sciences at UC Riverside
Phone: 559-592-2408 ext 1154
Email: ashrafe@ucr.edu
Photo of Ben Faber , Ph.D.
Ben Faber , Ph.D.
Title: Advisor
Specialty: Soils and water, avocados and minor subtropicals in Ventura and Santa Barbara Counties.
Phone: (805) 645-1462
Email: bafaber@ucanr.edu
Photo of Gail W. Feenstra
Gail W. Feenstra
Title: Director, SAREP; Academic Coordinator, Food & Society
Specialty: Sustainable agriculture, local and regional food systems, regional marketing, farmers markets, farm to school programs, nutrition, food system assessments/ indicators, food security, program evaluation
Phone: (530) 792-8248
Email: gwfeenstra@ucanr.edu
Photo of Brooke Latack
Brooke Latack
Title: Livestock Advisor
Phone: (442) 265-7700
Email: bclatack@ucanr.edu
Photo of Dr Joji Muramoto
Dr Joji Muramoto
Title: CE Specialist
Specialty: Organic Production
Phone: (831) 459-2178
Email: jmuramoto@ucanr.edu
Photo of Jennifer Sowerwine
Jennifer Sowerwine
Title: Associate Specialist
Specialty: Metropolitan Agriculture, Sustainable Food Systems, Agroecology and Food Sovereignty.
Email: jsowerwi@berkeley.edu
Photo of Ron Strochlic
Ron Strochlic
Title: Academic Coordinator
Phone: 510-642-3589
Email: rstrochlic@ucanr.edu