Contact

We are a collection of Fire and Natural Resource Advisers with a mission to deliver information and support for communities throughout California. Please feel free to contact us with questions about fire-related topics. 

If you have questions about current fire activity or if you feel that you are at risk from fire, please contact your local authorities for information and updates

Workgroup: Fire

Researches wildland fire mitigation and wildland fire use including WUI fire impacts, fire effects research, decision support tools and helping communities with planning in the WUI.

Annual Reports

Workgroup Chair Information

Photo of Susie Kocher
Susie Kocher
Title: Forestry/ Natural Resources Advisor
Address:
1061 3rd Street
South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Phone: 530-542-2574
Email: sdkocher@ucanr.edu
Photo of Lenya N. Quinn-Davidson
Lenya N. Quinn-Davidson
Title: Area Fire Advisor
Address:
5630 South Broadway
Eureka, CA, CA 95503
Phone: 707-445-7351
Email: lquinndavidson@ucanr.edu
Photo of Dr Max Alan Moritz Ph.D.
Dr Max Alan Moritz Ph.D.
Title: Specialist in Cooperative Extension
Address:
Bren School of Environmental Science & Management
2400 Bren Hall
Santa Barbara, CA 93106-5131
Phone: 805-893-8747
Email: mmoritz@ucanr.edu

Member Information

Photo of Rob Bennaton
Rob Bennaton
Title: Bay Area Urban Agriculture Advisor
Address:
University of California Cooperative Extension-Alameda County
224 West Winton Ave., Suite 134
Hayward, CA 94544
Phone: 510-703-4119
Email: rbennaton@ucanr.edu
Photo of Dr Luca Carmignani Ph.D.
Dr Luca Carmignani Ph.D.
Title: Assistant Fire Advisor
Address:
7601 Irvine Boulevard
Irvine, CA 92618
Phone: (949) 237-2956
Email: carmignani@ucanr.edu
Photo of Alison Deak
Alison Deak
Title: Fire Advisor
Address:
Mariposa County
5009 Fairgrounds Road
Mariposa, CA 95338-9435
Phone: 209-966-2417
Email: aldeak@ucanr.edu
Photo of Sabrina L. Drill , Ph.D.
Sabrina L. Drill , Ph.D.
Title: Natural Resources Advisor - Emeritus
Address:
UC Cooperative Extension, Los Angeles County
700 W. Main Street
Alhambra, CA 91801
Phone: 3238425399
Email: sldrill@ucanr.edu
Photo of Mimi M Enright
Mimi M Enright
Title: Program Manager, UC Master Gardener Program of Sonoma County & Community Food Systems
Address:
UC Cooperative Extension
133 Aviation Boulevard
Suite 109
Santa Rosa, CA 95403-2894
Phone: 707-565-2880
Email: menright@ucanr.edu
Photo of Julie Finzel
Julie Finzel
Title: Farm Advisor
Address:
Cooperative Extension Kern County
1031 South Mount Vernon Avenue
Bakersfield, CA 93307
Phone: 661-868-6219
Email: jafinzel@ucanr.edu
Photo of Dustin K. Flavell
Dustin K. Flavell
Title: SFREC Center Superintendent / Interim Director
Address:
8279 Scott Forbes Rd.
530-639-8800
Browns Valley, CA 95918
Phone: 530-639-8800
Email: dkflavell@ucdavis.edu
Photo of Stacey Sargent Frederick
Stacey Sargent Frederick
Title: California Fire Science Consortium Coordinator
Address:
University of California, Department of Environmental Science, Policy and Management
130 Mulford Hall, MC 3114
Berkeley, CA 94720-3114
Email: ssfrederick@berkeley.edu
Photo of Matteo M. Garbelotto Ph.D.
Matteo M. Garbelotto Ph.D.
Title: Extension Specialist in Forest Pathology and Adjunct Professor
Address:
University of California, Department of Environmental Science, Policy and Management
130 Mulford Hall, MC 3114
Berkeley, CA 94720-3114
Phone: (510) 643-4282
Email: matteog@berkeley.edu
Photo of J. Keith Gilless
J. Keith Gilless
Title: Dean Emeritus & Professor Emeritus of Forest Economics
Address:
130 Mulford Hall # 3114
Berkeley, CA 94720-3114
Email: gilless@berkeley.edu
Photo of Jan Gonzales
Jan Gonzales
Title: Project Coordinator/Community Education Supervisor II
Address:
Cooperative Extension
9335 Hazard Way
Suite 201
San Diego, CA 92123
Phone: (858) 822-7718
Email: jggonzales@ucanr.edu
Photo of Michael I Jones PhD
Michael I Jones PhD
Title: Forestry Advisor - Mendocino, Lake and Sonoma Counties
Address:
UCCE-Mendocino County
890 N. Bush Street
Ukiah, CA 95482
Phone: 707-463-4495
Email: mjones@ucanr.edu
Photo of Faith Kearns
Faith Kearns
Title: Academic Coordinator II
Address:
1111 Franklin Street
Franklin 10106D
Oakland, CA 94607
Phone: (510) 987-9124
Email: faith.kearns@ucop.edu
Photo of Nina Maggi Kelly
Nina Maggi Kelly
Title: Director, Statewide IGIS Program, Professor and Cooperative Extension Specialist
Address:
130 Mulford Hall #3114
121 Mulford
Berkeley, CA 94720-3114
Phone: (510) 642-7272
Email: maggi@berkeley.edu
Photo of Dr Royce Larsen E.
Dr Royce Larsen E.
Title: Area Natural Resource/Watershed Advisor
Address:
Cooperative Extension San Luis Obispo County
350 N. Main Street, Ste. B
Templeton, CA, CA 93465
Phone: (805) 434-4106
Email: relarsen@ucanr.edu
Photo of Stephanie Larson PhD
Stephanie Larson PhD
Title: County Director and Livestock Range Management Advisor
Address:
UC Cooperative Extension
133 Aviation Boulevard
Suite 109
Santa Rosa, CA 95403-2894
Phone: (707) 565-2621
Email: slarson@ucanr.edu
Photo of David J Lewis
David J Lewis
Title: Director, Advisor
Address:
Cooperative Extension Marin County
1682 Novato Boulevard
Suite 150-B
Novato, CA 94947
Phone: (415) 473-4204
Email: djllewis@ucanr.edu
Photo of Kathryn Low
Kathryn Low
Title: Fire Academic Coordinator
Address:
11477 E Ave
Auburn, CA 95603
Phone: 530-889-7385
Email: katlow@ucanr.edu
Photo of Dan Macon
Dan Macon
Title: County Director, Livestock and Natural Resources Advisor
Address:
11477 E Avenue
Auburn, CA 95603
Phone: 530-889-7385
Email: dmacon@ucanr.edu
Photo of Gabriele U Maier
Gabriele U Maier
Title: DVM, MPVM, DACVPM, PhD
Address:
UC Davis School of Veterinary Medicine
1 Garrod Drive
4203 VM3B
Davis, CA 95616
Phone: 530-754-0886
Email: gumaier@ucdavis.edu
Photo of Dr Fadzayi Elizabeth Mashiri Ph.D.
Dr Fadzayi Elizabeth Mashiri Ph.D.
Title: County Director Mariposa, Livestock and Natural Resources Advisor Mariposa, Merced Counties
Address:
Mariposa County
5009 Fairgrounds Road
Mariposa, CA 95338-9435
Phone: (209) 966-2417
Email: fmashiri@ucanr.edu
Photo of Glenn A Nader
Glenn A Nader
Title: Farm Advisor   Livestock and Natural Resources, Emeritus
Address:
Cooperative Extension Sutter-Yuba Counties
142A Garden Highway
Yuba City, CA 95991-5512
Email: ganader@ucanr.edu
Photo of Dr Beatriz Nobua-Behrmann
Dr Beatriz Nobua-Behrmann
Title: Urban Forestry and Natural Resources Advisor
Address:
South Coast Research and Extension Center
7601 Irvine Blvd.
Irvine, CA 92618
Phone: (949) 301-9182 Ext 1006
Email: benobua@ucanr.edu
Photo of Tori Norville
Tori Norville
Title: Cooperative Extension Fire Advisor
Address:
UC Cooperative Extension
133 Aviation Boulevard
Suite 109
Santa Rosa, CA 95403-2894
Email: trnorville@ucanr.edu
Photo of Rebecca Ozeran
Rebecca Ozeran
Title: Livestock and Natural Resources Advisor
Address:
UCCE
550 E. Shaw Ave, Suite 210B
Fresno, CA 93710
Phone: (559) 241-6564
Email: rkozeran@ucanr.edu
Photo of Stephen L Quarles
Stephen L Quarles
Title: CE Advisor  Emeritus
Address:
517 MONTFORD AVENUE
Mill Valley, CA 94941
Email: steve.quarles@berkeley.edu
Photo of Devii R. Rao
Devii R. Rao
Title: San Benito County Director and Area Livestock and Natural Resources Advisor
Address:
Cooperative Extension San Benito County
3228 Southside Road
Hollister, CA 95023
Phone: 831-205-3125
Email: drorao@ucanr.edu
Photo of Sashi Sabaratnam
Sashi Sabaratnam
Title: Wildfire Vegetation Mitigation Program Manager
Address:
UC Cooperative Extension
133 Aviation Boulevard
Suite 109
Santa Rosa, CA 95403-2894
Email: ssaba@ucanr.edu
Photo of Barb Satink Wolfson
Barb Satink Wolfson
Title: Fire Advisor
Address:
Cooperative Extension San Benito County
3228 Southside Road
Hollister, CA 95023
Email: bsatinkwolfson@ucanr.edu
Photo of Ricky Satomi
Ricky Satomi
Title: Forestry/Natural Resources Advisor
Address:
142A Garden Highway
Yuba City, CA 95991-5512
Phone: 530-822-6213
Email: rpsatomi@ucanr.edu
Photo of Tracy Schohr
Tracy Schohr
Title: Livestock & Natural Resource Advisor
Address:
208 Fairgrounds Road
Quincy, CA 95671
Phone: (916) 716-2643
Email: tkschohr@ucanr.edu
Photo of Mr Matthew Shapero
Mr Matthew Shapero
Title: Livestock and Range Advisor
Address:
Cooperative Extension Ventura County
669 County Square Drive, #100
Ventura, CA 93003-5401
Phone: 805-645-1475
Email: mwkshapero@ucanr.edu
Photo of Jeffery W. Stackhouse
Jeffery W. Stackhouse
Title: Livestock and Natural Resource Advisor
Address:
5630 South Broadway
Eureka, CA 95503-6998
Phone: 707-445-7351
Email: jwstackhouse@ucanr.edu
Photo of Steven Swain
Steven Swain
Title: Environmental Horticulture Advisor
Address:
Cooperative Extension Marin County
1682 Novato Boulevard
Suite 150-B
Novato, CA 94947
Phone: (415) 473-4204
Email: svswain@ucanr.edu
Photo of Ryan E Tompkins
Ryan E Tompkins
Title: Forester & Natural Resource Advisor
Address:
208 Fairground Road
Quincy, CA 95971
Phone: (530) 283-6125
Email: retompkins@ucanr.edu
Photo of Yana Valachovic
Yana Valachovic
Title: Forest Advisor and Humboldt - Del Norte County Director
Address:
5630 South Broadway
Eureka, CA 95503-6998
Phone: (707) 445-7351
Email: yvala@ucanr.edu
Photo of Daylin Wade
Daylin Wade
Title: Staff Research Associate II
Email: dawade@ucanr.edu
Photo of Lulu Waks
Lulu Waks
Address:
UC Cooperative Extension
133 Aviation Boulevard
Suite 109
Santa Rosa, CA 95403-2894
Email: lulu.waks@sonoma-county.org
Photo of Dr Robert A York
Dr Robert A York
Title: Assistant Professor of Cooperative Extension / Co-Director, Berkeley Forests / Adjunct Associate Professor of Forestry
Address:
Blodgett Forest Research Station
4501 Blodgett Forest Road
Georgetown, CA 95634
Phone: (530) 333-4475
Email: ryork@berkeley.edu