Drought experts

Drought experts

Jim Baird, Ph.D.
UC ANR Cooperative Extension turfgrass management specialist, based at UC Riverside
(951) 827-5630
cell (951) 333-9052
jbaird@ucr.edu

Dave Fujino, Ph.D.
Executive director, California Center for Urban Horticulture, based at UC Davis
(530) 754-7739
dwfujino@ucdavis.edu

Missy Gable
Director, UC ANR Statewide Master Gardener Program
Home gardening, landscaping
(530) 750-1266
mjgable@ucanr.edu

Thomas Harter, Ph.D.
UC ANR Cooperative Extension groundwater hydrologist, based at UC Davis (speaks fluent German)
(530) 752-2709
thharter@ucdavis.edu

Mark Lubell, Ph.D.
Professor
Human behavior and water conservation
(530) 752-5880
mnlubell@ucdavis.edu

Loren Oki, Ph.D.
UC ANR Cooperative Extension landscape horticulture specialist, based at UC Davis
(530) 754-4135
lroki@ucdavis.edu

Doug Parker, Ph.D.
Director, California Institute for Water Resources
UC ANR Cooperative Extension specialist, statewide water policy
(510) 987-0036
doug.parker@ucop.edu

Dan Putnam, Ph.D.
UC ANR Cooperative Extension agronomy specialist, based at UC Davis
Alfalfa
(530-752-8982
dhputnam@ucdavis.edu

Samuel Solis Sandoval, Ph.D.
UC ANR Cooperative Extension specialist (speaks fluent Spanish), based at UC Davis
Municipal and agricultural water use
(530) 754-9646
samsandoval@ucdavis.edu

David Sunding
UC ANR Cooperative Extension specialist based at UC Berkeley
Natural resources and environmental economics
(510) 642-8229
sunding@are.berkeley.edu

Daniel Sumner, Ph.D.
UC ANR agricultural economist, based at UC Davis
Director, UC Agricultural Issues Center
(530) 752-1668
dasumner@ucdavis.edu

Daniele Zaccaria, Ph.D. (Speaks fluent Italian)
UC ANR Cooperative Extension water management specialist, based at UC Davis
(530) 219-7502 cell (email first)
dzaccaria@ucdavis.edu

Central Valley

Allan Fulton
UC ANR Cooperative Extension farm advisor, Tehama, Colusa, Glenn and Shasta counties
Irrigation and water resources
(530) 527-3101
(530) 200-2246 cell
aefulton@ucanr.edu

Craig Kallsen
UC ANR Cooperative Extension farm advisor, Kern County
Citrus and pistachios
(661) 868-6221
cekallsen@ucanr.edu

Robert Hutmacher, Ph.D.
UC ANR Cooperative Extension agronomic crops specialist
Director, UC West Side Research and Extension Center
(559) 260-8957
rbhutmacher@ucanr.edu

Dan Munk
UC ANR Cooperative Extension farm advisor, Fresno County
Irrigation and drainage
(559) 241-7521
(559) 284-6674 cell
dsmunk@ucanr.edu

Karrie Reid
UC ANR Cooperative Extension Environmental horticulture advisor, San Joaquin County
Landscaping under drought conditions
(209) 953-6109
skreid@ucanr.edu

Central Coast

Michael Cahn
UC ANR Cooperative Extension farm advisor, Monterey, Santa Cruz and San Benito counties
Irrigation and water resources, vegetables and berries
(831) 759-7377
mdcahn@ucanr.edu

Ben Faber
UC ANR Cooperative Extension farm advisor, Ventura and Santa Barbara counties
Water, soils and subtropical crops, such as avocado and citrus
(805) 645-1462
bafaber@ucanr.edu

Southern California

Janet Hartin
UC ANR Cooperative Extension environmental horticulture advisor, San Bernardino, Los Angeles and Riverside counties
Landscape and turfgrass irrigation/graywater use
(951) 313-2023
jshartin@ucanr.edu

Darren Haver, Ph.D.
UC ANR Cooperative Extension farm advisor, Orange County
Landscaping and drought
(949) 653-1814
Twitter: @DHaverUCANR
dlhaver@ucanr.edu

 

For more information, contact: Jeannette Warnert, (559) 240-9850, jewarnert@ucanr.edu and Pam Kan-Rice, (510) 206-3476, pam.kanrice@ucanr.edu