Wildfire experts

Travis_Bean-mug
Travis Bean

UC ANR Cooperative Extension weed specialist at UC Riverside
Management of invasive plants that introduce or alter fire regimes
(951) 827-5130
travis.bean@ucr.edu

Van-Butsic-mug
Van Butsic

UC ANR Cooperative Extension specialist at UC Berkeley
Land change science including fire and land use planning
(510) 666-5400
vanbutsic@berkeley.edu

Sabrina Drill

UC ANR Cooperative Extension natural resources advisor for Los Angeles and Ventura counties
Plant arrangement, building design and maintenance to reduce fire risk, invasive weeds and pests contributing to fire risk
(626) 586-1975
sldrill@ucanr.edu

maggi_kellymug
Maggi Kelly 

UC ANR Cooperative Extension natural resource monitoring specialist
Geographic information science, mapping forests 
(510) 642-7272
maggi@berkeley.edu

Susie-Kocher-mug
Susan Kocher

UC ANR Cooperative Extension natural resources advisor in the Central Sierra
Fire adapted communities, fire hazard mitigation in forests, post fire restoration
“Living with Fire in the Tahoe Basin” websitehttp://www.livingwithfire.info/tahoe/
(530) 542-2571
sdkocher@ucanr.edu 

Chris McDonald

UC ANR Cooperative Extension natural resources advisor
Desert species, invasive plants and fire
(909) 387-2242
cjmcdonald@ucanr.edu

Richard Minnich

Professor of earth sciences, UC ANR Agricultural Experiment Station, UC Riverside
Fire ecology of Southern California, Baja California, and temperate Mexico; exotic plant invasions, climate change.
(951) 827-5515 
minnich@ucr.edu

Max-Moritz-mug
Max Moritz

UC ANR Cooperative Extension wildfire specialist in the Department of Environmental Science, Policy and Management at UC Berkeley. He is located in Santa Barbara County.
Wildland fire, fire modeling, fire effects, shrubland ecosystems and spatial patterns of fire disturbance, climate change adaptation
mmoritz@berkeley.edu

Malcolm-North-photo
Malcolm North 

Associate professor of Forest Ecology, UC ANR ecologist
Forest recovery
(530) 902-8135
mpnorth@ucdavis.edu

Lenya-mug
Lenya Quinn-Davidson

UC Cooperative Extension Area fire advisor - Northern California
Fire ecology and management
(707) 445-7351
lquinndavidson@ucanr.edu

Dave Rizzo

Plant pathology professor, UC ANR pathologist
Fire and infectious disease
(530) 752-0300
dmrizzo@ucdavis.edu

Ricky-Satomi-mug
Ricky Satomi

UC Cooperative Extension area forestry and natural resources advisor in Shasta, Trinity and Siskiyou counties
Forest management and wood use
(530) 224-4900
rpsatomi@ucanr.edu

Mark-Schwartz-mug
Mark Schwartz

Environmental science professor at UC Davis and UC ANR ecologist
Forest plot mapping
(530) 752-0671
mwschwartz@ucdavis.edu

Tom Scott

UC ANR Cooperative Extension area natural resources wildlife specialist for Southern California
Conservation of wildlife, wildlife management at the urban-wildland interface, and response of plants and animal species to fire
(951) 827-5115
thomas.scott@ucr.edu

Matthew-Shapero-mug
Matthew WK Shapero

UC Cooperative Extension livestock and range advisor for Ventura and Santa Barbara counties
Wildfire on rangelands (grasslands and scrublands); fire impacts to ranching and ranches; prescribed fire practices for fuels modification and range improvement; emphasis on Central Coast and Southern California
(805) 645-1475
mwkshapero@ucanr.edu 

Scott-Stephens-mug
Scott Stephens

Professor of fire science and co-director Center for Fire Research and Outreach at UC Berkeley, UC ANR fire scientist
Fire ecology, fire behavior, wildfire, fuels treatments, forest mortality, fire policy 
(510) 642-7304
sstephens@berkeley.edu

Bill-Stewart-mug
Bill Stewart

UC ANR Cooperative Extension forestry specialist in the Department of Environmental Science, Policy and Management at UC Berkeley and co-director Center for Fire Research and Outreach
Economics of fire prevention and fire suppression programs
(510) 643-3130
billstewart@berkeley.edu

Steven-Swain
Steven Swain

UC ANR Cooperative Extension environmental horticulture advisor, Marin and Sonoma counties
Fire and forest management in the wildland urban interface; post-fire tree survival and mortality; fire, pest, and disease interactions; fire and landscape
(415) 473-4204
svswain@ucanr.edu 

Yana-Valachovic
Yana Valachovic

UC ANR Cooperative Extension forest advisor in Humboldt and Del Norte counties and member of the Northern California Fire Science Consortium hub
Home and landscape design considerations for wildfire, prescribed fire, forest health and prescribed fire, wildfire and fuels in redwood, Douglas-fir and tanoak forests, fire education
(707) 445-7351
yvala@ucanr.edu

Kate-Wilkin-mug
Kate Wilkin

UC Cooperative Extension forestry/fire science and natural resources advisor
Sutter, Yuba, Butte and Nevada counties
Fire ecology and management, fuels treatments and fire policy
(530) 822-7515
kwilkin@ucanr.edu

 

For more information, contact: Jeannette Warnert, (559) 240-9850, jewarnert@ucanr.edu and Pam Kan-Rice, (510) 206-3476, pam.kanrice@ucanr.edu