Hero Image

Star Ranks: Bronze, Silver, Gold, Platinum

What are the 4-H star ranks?

The star award ranking system is a voluntary advancement program utilizing the Personal Development Report (PDR) form (part of the 4-H record book) as a goal setting tool, aimed at encouraging broad-based participation and achievement in the 4-H Program. 4-H members record their participation in eight categories for the current 4-H program year on the Personal Development Report (PDR). Activities are totaled for all years in 4-H and star awards are given to those 4-H members meeting the requirements.

Junior, intermediate and senior members may all strive for star ranks. Each star level takes an average of two years to complete. Star rank achievers receive a tangible star, which is often attached to the 4-H hat.


Bronze Star: Complete at least 5 of the 8 PDR categories.

Gold Star: Complete at least 7 of the 8 PDR categories.

Silver Star: Complete at least 6 of the 8 PDR categories.

Platinum Star: Complete at least 7 of the 8 PDR categories.

How can I earn these star ranks?

To qualify for any of the achievement rank awards, 4-H members must attend 80 percent of both the local club and the project meetings held during the year.  To obtain any of the ranks, 4-H members must complete the asterisked (*) categories a part of his/her total effort.  This excerpt from the Personal Development Report (PDR), part of the 4-H member record book, shows the numbers and categories necessary to earn each star ranking:

Categories of Participation Number of Different Categories Required
5 Required
6 Required
7 Required
7 Required
1. 4-H Projects Completed
This category records projects a 4-H member has completed.
2* 4* 8* 12*
2. 4-H Project Skill Activities
This category records activities where 4-H members either exhibited their 4-H work or demonstrated their knowledge to an audience and/or judge.
4 8 15 20
3. 4-H Events Attended
This category records 4-H events, other than 4-H club and project meetings, that the 4-H member attended during the year.
12 25 40 60
4. Leadership Development
This category records leadership activities undertaken by the 4-H member.
10 20 30* 40*
Junior or Teen Leader (0) (0) (2*) (4*)
5. Citizenship & Community Service
This category records citizenship and community service activities undertaken by the 4-H member.
10 20* 30* 40*
6. Communication Skills
This category records communication activities undertaken by the 4-H member.
12* 24* 36* 48*
4-H Presentations (4*) (7*) (10*) (15*)
7. Honors and Recognition
This category records the significant honors and recognition earned by the 4-H member.
5 10 15 20
8. Lifestyle Activities
This category records lifestyle activities both in and outside of 4-H that the member participated in.
10 20 30 40
Platinum Star


The Platinum Star is the highest achievement a 4-H member can earn in their 4-H Club! These 4-H members must have completed twelve 4-H projects, served as a Junior or Teen Leader four times, and given fifteen presentations, among other requirements. The platinum star was introduced in 2006.

El Dorado County Ambassador Team A County Ambassador is the representative and champion of the 4-H program in the county. The goal of the county Ambassador program is to recognize the achievements of active 4-H members and to offer additional opportunities for leadership.

The Emerald Star Award, sponsored by the El Dorado County 4-H Volunteer Management Board, is a county award for service to the community and/or to the 4-H program.

The California Diamond Clover is the highest achievement for which a 4-H youth member is recognized.  All youth members who achieve the requirements are eligible to receive this award. Awardees receive the California Diamond Clover Pin or Necklace Charm, a certificate and a recognition letter from the Associate Director of 4-H Program and Policy.